top of page
  • Writer's pictureDuru Gungor

Fire and Perfume

The fire is fake. It comes from my TV. Yet it crackles and, combined with the smoky scent of plum incense, it becomes real enough. This is, I realize, the underlying principle of perfume-making: combining elements that have nothing to do with a real rose, to create something that is rose enough. Or the longing for the real rose. That's it; in the exact same way a perfume is a longing, fake fire is another. I could now overturn the stone and find underneath, scattering in a panic, countless little bits of my reality constructed in the same manner--love, friendships, my entire self-image. I could, but I won't. Longings deserve more delicate handling than dissection, and I've been working hard to make my hands small and light. Nearly transparent.

_________________________________________

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page