top of page
  • Writer's pictureDuru Gungor

Liquefied

Updated: Dec 16, 2021

this loud idiot

with a nasty song, say the birds

garbage truck


thickly rushing north

the clouds of seven o'clock

I swear I'll rise soon


unlike you, thick clouds

this warm bed won't let me go

have fun in the north


a crow might alight

on this paper if I drink

just a bit more wine


liquefied

open and indifferent

the world in my hand


in the murky stream

each leaf oddly bears fallen

its distinction



just standing here

minding my own business

better beware still


Seen this morning, October 17: shadows and early sunlight on the slowly reddening trees. A bit of frost and a belt of dew drops beneath my window sill. A ghostly bird, maybe a seagull (so, definitely a ghost), white and alone in the morning sky, soaring high; it glides and becomes invisible under my gaze. My dreams from last night, messy, broken, unremembered.


Yet seeing is essential. I don't know if it suffices for the end, but it must be the beginning. Nothing else does it.


this beautiful

silence at the edge of sleep

is where I'll find you


I'll draw a blanket

over the shivery moon

and myself tonight

why don't I pluck

and keep those shiny things

you call eyes


wouldn't go to bed

without first making myself

sick with dancing

my good deed today

to see russet apple slices

in a gold-rimmed bowl


blue morning mists

I'm curled up in the warmth

of one hawk's eye


inexplicably

bursting with flowers

a smug little cactus


it's been a while since

I last opened myself

and looked inside


battle morning

feathered skies

and I'm a falcon


like a vast runway

the clouds show me where to land

once I fall asleep


pine incense

to simulate mountains

pictures for family


on the shore down under

weeping for time that can't be crossed

how true that dream was


hour of the cigar

peace and boiling rage

in the land


the wind left with all

the dried stalks of Queen Ann's lace

on my balcony


"But life has turned out differently, God knows why. My old furniture is rotting in the barn where I left it, and I myself, yes, my God, I have no roof over me, and it is raining into my eyes."--The Notebooks of Malte Laurids Brigge, Rilke



________________________________________________

All photos & artwork © Duru Güngör


London, September - December 2021

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page