top of page
  • Writer's pictureDuru Gungor

The pulse of time

a spring haze

slender contrails like first life

stirring in the sea


let it come softly

through clouds of wisteria

stilling the pulse of time



your eyes tenderly

aglow with the moon of May

as you remember


I’m pretty certain

this calico cat pities

my foolish ways


(The blossoms of wisteria that only last week came rolling over the garden walls in thick, fragrant waves are all gone now, but in the less trodden parts of the garden that my sister doesn’t bother to sweep every morning, their lilac-gray petals still cover the stone tiles and cushion my idle steps. Crushed wisteria petals interspersed with dry bamboo leaves form a lovely pattern on the tiles’ pink. This is how spring gently closes its first door behind me, and listening to the ringing silence is all I do these days.)


the silence is mine

each clear morn birds and ship horns

come splash against it

Photography: Ahu Gungor

with soft steps the cat

without awakening the house

finds the sun on the roof


a languid feast

on a seagull or two

and the vast sky





plump magnolias

swoon on wet branches

rain all day


dandelions fade

as I watch the paper dry

gentle ghosts float by


the ripe blossom of

magnolia in the rain

looks back at me


spring pictures

a bruised white blossom

drinking in the rain



these fluffy things

that drift in the air in June

like my scattered brains


reflected sunrise

warm light climbing up the walls

glints of gold afar


found Teri again

(see past life, hers and mine)

the chant of her leaves


I drink the whiskey

the birdsong, the warmth, the light

all molten for me



while still half asleep

I cracked open the window

let the balm flood in


the tree breathing out

its soul a river of fluff

shivers in the sun


blackbird on wet rocks

never mind it’s the sewers

a tale almost spun


slender ankles

quick under the umbrella

splashing the warm rain


sun-drenched branches

holding me in a silence

snatched from bikers’ bells



in the silken night

alone with a hot coffee

and a single star


I could write something

but why bother when watching

this huge summer night?


balmy sweet

and vast with faint glitters

this night calls my name


storm-blue clouds folding

over a sleepy Sunday

the far boom of a train


the smell of wet soil

and the warm cup in my hands

mornings in July


it’s hard not to melt

into sudden silences

in a summer storm


textbook romantic

overbrimming with ripe greens

bubbles, death, and stars


I put my glasses

and my lizard smile on

to curl upon hot rocks


slender arms

on a far balcony

tending to flowers


out for a coffee

with pillow marks on my face

and all the sunlight


I give to the sun

a broken body and mind

both oddly grinning


respect the spiral

of life and destruction

in a cinnamon roll


another morning

finds me mildly concussed

well that’s about it


(Vacationing in Port Stanley, alone on the harbor)


crickets two geese and half a pale moon

my friends this morning




(Marcus Aurelius on my balcony)


summer dark

an old emperor and I

thundering green


summer darkling

even darker inside

sings the Emperor


no end to this rain

sings, sings, sings the Emperor

in a perfect drop


... Istanbul, Bodrum & London, Spring-Summer 2022


_________________________________

(Photography and artwork by Duru Gungor unless indicated otherwise)

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page